Tennessee Traffic Laws

Tennessean drivers should be aware of state traffic laws that can impact them. Like many other states, Tennessee has passed a “move over law” to protect police and emergency workers parked on roadways. The law requires motorists to change lanes when they see a police or emergency vehicle pulled over with its lights flashing. If the motorist is unable to change lanes, they must slow their speed until they pass the parked vehicle. More recently, the move over law has been expanded to include utility vehicles. The penalties for violating the move over law can include a $500 fine and up to 30 days in jail.